Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image Image

April 2014 - Burnaby Velodrome Club

Open House space limited

April 25, 2014 | By | No Comments

With just over a week to go until our annual Open House space is filling up quickly. At the moment out Saturday afternoon session is now full. Hurry up and reserve your spot today in one of the remaining sessions. To sign up register here.

Track Closed for Good Friday

April 19, 2014 | By | No Comments

We just found out the facility is closing for Good Friday…while we were setting up. Sorry if you planned on coming out to the LTR tonight. We’ve got another session coming up on Tuesday. Hope to see you there.

Time Trials 4/16

April 17, 2014 | By | No Comments

With the road racing season in full swing here in the lower mainland it’s easy to forget that the track is still very active. And so it was last night for our bi-monthly time trials. As the rain battered the roof of the velodrome, riders settled in to turn out some fast times.

Every other month throughout the year we hold time trials in lieu of one of our Wednesday coached workout sessions. The time trials are a great opportunity to see where you stack up against previous times, set new personal records, and for those with heart rate monitors or power meters, establish new training zones. Riders do not need to have taken our Learn to Race course in order to compete, only have taken the prerequisite LTR courses. Our next time trials will be held on June 11th with racing starting at 7:00pm sharp. In the mean time be sure to join us for our sprint tournament being held on May 14th!

Time Trials
Flying 200
Stephen Butchart 12.48
Brian 12.98
Jason Reddy 13.3
Kevin Hay 13.33
Derek Ulrich 13.68
Byron Therault 13.93
Blair Benjamin 14.65
Nial Dempsy 14.78
Joshua Harding 16.01
Anna Bonga 17.8
Standing 250m TT
Michael Wegner 21.8
Kevin Hay 22
Brian 22.4
Derek Ulrich 22.5
Standing 500m TT
Anna Bonga 50.33
750m TT
Nial Dempsey 01:03.5
1km TT
Michael Wegner 01:18.2
Stephen Butchart 01:18.4
Jason Reddy 01:21.3
Blair Benjamin 01:22.0
Kevin Hay 01:22.1
Derek Ulrich 01:22.4
Brian 01:22.7
Byron Thereault 01:22.8
Nial Dempsey 01:27.9
3km Indiviudal Pursuit
Anna Bonga 05:08.8
4km Individual Pursuit
Michael Wegner 05:29.5
Blair Benjamin 05:52.7
Nial Dempsey 06:06.0
Joshua Harding 06:33.6
Team Sprint
Michael Wegner 44.57
Stephen Butchart
Jason Reddy
Kevin Hay 47.68
Derek Ulrich
Bradley Dean
Joshua Harding 49.7
Blair Benjamin

Sprint Tournament Results 3/21

April 17, 2014 | By | No Comments

Better late than never! A great job to all of the competitors that came out to our March sprint tournament. Looking back, this particular race night has to have been one of the highlights of our winter race season for me. Very close racing and, tactically, it really highlighted the progression that so many racers have had throughout the race season.

Also, congratulations to the many youth riders we had participating in our sprint tournament. Many of whom rode their first ever flying 200 and match sprint competition. I think it’s safe to say we can expect great things from this group!

The next sprint tournament will be taking place on Wednesday May 14th at 7:00pm. The sprint tournaments are open to all riders that have been through the LTR courses. You do not need to have taken the Learn to Race in order to compete. It’s best to think of the competitions as a training session of sorts. It’s a great way to learn how to sprint and have a fun in the process.

Flying 200’s
Name Time
Kelyn Akuna 11.92
Matt Chater 12.29
Adam Reddy 12.41
Amiel Flett-Brown 12.48
Eric Mulder 12.54
Chris Jameson 12.59
Steve Butchart 12.59
Cole Harden 12.65
Julian Base 12.77
Michael Wegner 12.84
Jason Reddy* 13.09
Kevin Hay 13.26
Simon LePine 13.38
Derek Ulrich 13.43
Krista Ruby 13.43
Spencer Mulder 13.54
John White 13.59
Ryan Jones 13.59
Bradley Dean 13.66
Alex H. 13.81
Ronnie Jones 13.84
Tom Baker 14.15
Jessica Reynolds* 14.75
Dave Henderson 14.88
Aaron Greenberg 14.89
Jordan Delaney* 14.96
Meghan Grant 15.18
Margaret Ovenell* 15.45
Judith Wan* 16.5
Eric Worman* 17.28
Scott* 17.81
Wyatt Schnare* 17.87
Joel Worman* 20.87
Andrena Johnson* 23.13
Cormack Chiu* ?
 *Denotes youth rider
Group 1 Group 2 Group 3
Round 1
Meghan G. def Cole H. def Spencer M. def
Jordan D. Michael W. Brad D.
Dave H. def Adam R. def Derek U. def
Judith W. Chris J. John W.
Jess R. def Steve B. def Ryan J. def
Margaret O. Julian B. Kevin H.
Cormack C. def Eric M. def Simon L. def
Aaron G. Amiel F. Tom B.
Krista R. def
Meghan G.
Jason R. def
Ronnie J.
Round 2
Cormack C. def Cole H. def Derek U. def
Jordan D. Steve B. Bradley D.
Dave H. def Adam R. def Simon L. def
Margaret O. Erik M. Kevin H.
Aaron G. def Julian B. def Alex H.
Jess R. Amiel F. Ronnie J.
Kelyn A. def Jason R. def
Michael W. Tom B.
Ryan C. def
Krista R.
Spencer M.
Round 3
Jess R. def Erik M. def Bradley D. def
Dave H. Cole H. Alex H.
Steve B. def Derek U. def
Amiel F. Cormack C.
Julian B. def Spencer M. def
Michael W. Tom B.
Kelyn A. def Simon L. def
Adam R. Jason R.
Ryan C. def
Krista R.
Kevin H. def
Aaron G.